Item description

This graphic explains what exactly is depth of knowledge.  It’s based on Dr. Norman Webb’s research with aligning assessments, Dr. Karin Hess’s work with cognitive rigor, and my own ideas of how Webb’s DOK Levels can be used to develop and deliver deeper teaching and learning experiences.

For more information or to receive professional development on this topic, please visit or e-mail   

This topic is also discussed more extensively in my book Now THAT’S a Good Question! How to Promote Cognitive Rigor Through Classroom Questioning published by ASCD.


  • Identifies the four levels of Webb’s Depth-of-Knowledge and their learning expectations (Webb, 2002).
  • Categorizes the cognitive demand of DOK levels as low, moderate, and high based on Florida Department of Education DOK Levels (FLDOE, 2012).
  • Uses DOK Levels to establish ceilings of assessment – the highest and deepest level of learning a test item could and should assess student learning based on the most cognitively demanding objective of a standard (Hess, 2013).
  • Describes the instructional focus DOK Learning Experiences and indicates the DOK Target that set the instructional goals for a DOK learning experience and the individual lessons within it (Francis, 2017). 
  • Identifies the good questions and student learning expectations for each DOK level (Francis, 2016).


SIZE: 8″ X 14″

Grade levels Kindergarten, 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, 4th Grade, 5th Grade, 6th Grade, 7th Grade, 8th Grade, 9th Grade, 10th Grade, 11th Grade, 12th Grade
Resource types , , , , , , , , , , ,
Additional images (optional)
Is editable content included? No
Supported file formats .pdf

You must log in and be a buyer of this item to submit a review.

Leave a reply